AppCommand in 3DxWare Properties

Post questions, comments and feedback to our 3Dconnexion Windows Development Team.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Robbischubser
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2014 3:13 am

AppCommand in 3DxWare Properties

Post by Robbischubser » Wed Dec 10, 2014 3:31 am

Hi,

I want to create a command which is sent by SI_APP_EVENT. I understand that I therefore need an entry in the .cfg like this:

Code: Select all

<ButtonAction Type="AppCommand">
			<ID>AppCommand_ToggleMode</ID>
			<Name>Toggle operating mode</Name>
			<AppCmdID>ToggleMode</AppCmdID>
</ButtonAction>
This works fine but the 3dxWare-GUI wont show this entry. It is not selectable by the user. If I change 'AppCommand' to 'App' the entry shows up in the GUI, but is obviously not send through SI_APP_EVENT. Any ideas what to do to make this command user-selectable?

jwick
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2804
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: AppCommand in 3DxWare Properties

Post by jwick » Fri Dec 12, 2014 4:11 am

Your xml looks fine.
Try the latest version of the GUI (3DxWare 10.2.1).
Those commands are mixed in with other commands now. They are not in their own section.

Robbischubser
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2014 3:13 am

Re: AppCommand in 3DxWare Properties

Post by Robbischubser » Tue Dec 16, 2014 3:04 am

Unfortunately this doesnt work out either.

I have:
1. Installed 3dxWare 10.2.1
2. Created a Application specific XML in C:\Program Files\3Dconnexion\3DxWare\3DxWinCore64\Cfg (See below)
3. Deleted the 3dconnexion entrys from C:\Users\<user>\AppData\Local and C:\Users\<user>\AppData\Roaming

When the Application is started I can use the 'Standard'-Button to configure V3DK_1 to my AppCommand. But its still impossible to choose the AppCommand from the list of available commands.

My Application specific XML:

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!--
(c) Copyright 3Dconnexion. All rights reserved. 
$Revision: 10997 $
-->
<AppCfg Default="true" xmlns="" CfgFormatVersion="1.1" ThisFileVersion="1.1">
	<AppInfo>
		<Name>MyApp</Name>
		<VersionRange>
			<Min>1.0</Min>
			<Max>1.0</Max>
		</VersionRange>
		<ExecutableName>*.*</ExecutableName>
		<ApplicationIcon>3Dx.ico</ApplicationIcon>
		<Transport>S80</Transport>
		<SendDeviceChangeEvent>false</SendDeviceChangeEvent>
		<IgnoreMouseWheelInertia>true</IgnoreMouseWheelInertia>
	</AppInfo>
	<CfgProperties>
		<Access>
			<ReadOnly>true</ReadOnly>
			<AllowInheritance>true</AllowInheritance>
			<Hidden>false</Hidden>
			<Ignore>false</Ignore>
		</Access>
		<Grab>None</Grab>
	</CfgProperties>
	<Settings>
		<ResponseCurve>1.7</ResponseCurve>
		<ScaleX>4.00</ScaleX>
		<ScaleY>4.00</ScaleY>
		<ScaleZ>4.00</ScaleZ>
		<ScaleRx>4.00</ScaleRx>
		<ScaleRy>4.00</ScaleRy>
		<ScaleRz>4.00</ScaleRz>
	</Settings>
	<ButtonActions>
		<!-- App Handled Actions -->
		<ButtonAction Type="App">
			<ID>App_ResetYourView</ID>
			<Name>STR_APP_RESETYOURVIEW</Name>
		</ButtonAction>
		<ButtonAction Type="App">
			<ID>App_ShowYourGUI</ID>
			<Name>STR_APP_SHOWYOURGUI</Name>
		</ButtonAction>
		<ButtonAction Type="AppCommand">
			<ID>AppCommand_ToggleMode</ID>
			<Name>Toggle operating mode</Name>
			<AppCmdID>ToggleMode</AppCmdID>
		</ButtonAction>		
	</ButtonActions>

	<!-- For each Legacy app, default to showing the 3DxWare Popup menu for the menu key, since it used to show the 3DxWare GUI. -->
	<!-- The Base, sends this key to the app -->
	<Devices>
		<Device>
			<Name>Standard 3D Mouse</Name>
			<VendorID>0</VendorID>
			<ProductID>0</ProductID>
			<AxisFilter>None</AxisFilter>
			<CurrentButtonBank>Default</CurrentButtonBank>
			<ButtonBank Default="true">
				<Name>STR_DEFAULT_BUTTONBANK</Name>
				<ID>Default</ID>
				<Button ReadOnly="true">
					<Input>
						<ActionID>V3DK_MENU</ActionID>
					</Input>
					<Output>
						<ActionID>Driver_ShowDriverGUI</ActionID>
					</Output>
				</Button>
				<Button>
					<Input>
						<ActionID>V3DK_FIT</ActionID>
					</Input>
					<Output>
						<ActionID>App_ResetYourView</ActionID>
					</Output>
				</Button>
				<Button>
					<Input>
						<ActionID>V3DK_1</ActionID>
					</Input>
					<Output>
						<ActionID>AppCommand_ToggleMode</ActionID>
					</Output>
				</Button>				
			</ButtonBank>
		</Device>
    </Devices>
	<UI>
		<ButtonMappingEditor>
			<UseApp>false</UseApp>
			<SyncFunctionID>204</SyncFunctionID>
			<ActionID>Driver_ShowDriverGUI</ActionID>
		</ButtonMappingEditor>
		<AdvancedSettingsEditor>
			<UseApp>false</UseApp>
			<SyncFunctionID>205</SyncFunctionID>
			<ActionID>Driver_ShowDriverGUI</ActionID>
		</AdvancedSettingsEditor>
	</UI>
</AppCfg>

jwick
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2804
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: AppCommand in 3DxWare Properties

Post by jwick » Tue Dec 16, 2014 4:23 am

Sure enough.
The AppCommands don't appear in the GUI. We have to fix that.
We are looking at it. It is just a GUI issue.
You should be able to use the commands, but you have to edit the Cfg yourself.
Thanks for pointing it out.

Robbischubser
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2014 3:13 am

Re: AppCommand in 3DxWare Properties

Post by Robbischubser » Wed Jan 21, 2015 11:32 pm

Hello,

is there a date I may look forward to for a fixed driver?

jwick
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2804
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: AppCommand in 3DxWare Properties

Post by jwick » Thu Jan 22, 2015 1:25 am

I think there is a driver release planned for next month.

Post Reply