Using Spacemouse with iOS/Android?

Post questions, comments and feedback to our 3Dconnexion Mac Development Team.

Moderator: Moderators

MMEngineer

Using Spacemouse with iOS/Android?

Post by MMEngineer »

(This doesn't seem like quite the right place to post this question, but it's the best match.)

I am a graduate student working on designing a computer system to be used by some types of hospital patients. My system would require a controller that can connect directly to an iPad (or, if necessary, an Android device). I currently have a non-wireless Spacemouse and think it might be the right type of controller; is the wireless Spacemouse capable of interfacing with the iOS or Android systems?

Thank you.
ngomes

Re: Using Spacemouse with iOS/Android?

Post by ngomes »

Hi MMEngineer,

Sounds like a fun project.

Apple iOS devices are very locked down. Your best chance is creating a "proxy" of sorts using a separate computer connected through wi-fi to your iOS device. As far as I know, Apple does not allow apps to access unauthorised devices over USB (I believe the USB device needs an Apple-provided chip to authorise it to the iOS device). Bluetooth likewise (very limited set of profiles). Perhaps you can use the audio in jack and do your own DSP to convert audio to a bitstream but it is unlikely to achieve any decent bit rate. Bottom line: connect your SpaceMouse to a host computer (Raspberry Pi, say) and use it as wi-fi proxy.

With Android you should be in the clear provided the device has USB host capabilities (most recent devices should).

Let us know how you get on.
MMEngineer

Post by MMEngineer »

Thanks. Sounds like a bit of a pain for the iPad, but I can try it out with my personal Android tablet if I get a wireless one. I'm about to get one and try it out, but how will I connect it to my Android tablet? I have a Galaxy Tab 2, if that matters.

Thanks!
ngomes

Post by ngomes »

Hi MMEngineer,
how will I connect it to my Android tablet?