Old SpaceBall FLX4000 (serial), please help

Post questions, comments and feedback to our 3Dconnexion UNIX and Linux Development Team.

Moderator: Moderators

xemet

Old SpaceBall FLX4000 (serial), please help

Post by xemet »

Hello,

I'm a student from Italy,
Just yesterday I've got at university an old SpaceBall 4000 FLX (serial, not USB).
My intention was to use it to move (as manual jog device) a numeric control milling machine.

We use the free software EMC2 ( www.linuxcnc.org) to control our machines.
This software includes HAL (Hardware Abstraction Layer) that is a thing like LabView where you have (and can create) several modules with input/output pins and connects them.
Just yesterday, using this HAL, I succeeded in moving my CNC machine using an inexpensive USB joypad. I used a module called hal_joystick that creates a virtual pin (float type) for every axis and (bit type) for every button.

Now the question is: is it possible to read the SpaceBall axis position so that i can create a pin reporting it, just like the module hal_joystick does?
I've installed the 3dxware driver, and tried the xvalue demo. It shows all axes values...if only I could read them with a script or a C module the problem would be solved.

Or is there a standard way to interact with the 3dxware driver in order to retrieve the axis values?

Many thanks,

Manfredi Leto
UtaSH

Re: Old SpaceBall FLX4000 (serial), please help

Post by UtaSH »

Hello xemet,

the data of the device is sent via XClientMessages to the active window (InputFocus). An example for an application that reads this data (xapp.c) is in our Unix/Linux SDK. You can get it from http://www.3dconnexion.com/support/4h.php.

Uta Ludwig
3Dconnexion
xemet

Post by xemet »

Thank you very much!

I'm not very expert with C right now, but now that I know it is possible to retrieve the axes values I will study the problem.

Many thanks!

Manfredi
xemet

Post by xemet »

Hello,