maya 2008 linux plugins?

Questions and answers about 3Dconnexion devices on UNIX and Linux.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
philme500
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 4:31 am

maya 2008 linux plugins?

Post by philme500 » Mon Sep 17, 2007 3:00 am

hey, when can we expect maya 2008 linux plugins? any news with the render bug i found? viewtopic.php?t=1331

crobl
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2007 8:34 am
Location: Freiham, Germany

Post by crobl » Thu Sep 20, 2007 9:27 am

Hi Phil,

we 're currently working on the plugins for Maya 2008.
If you send me a private message with the version you need (64 or 32 bit) I can give you a BETA version for testing.

Regarding the render bug, please read this thread for an update.


Christian
3Dconnexion

djs_core
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 10:16 am

Post by djs_core » Tue Jan 08, 2008 4:58 am

Hello.
I have written private message to Moderator "crobl" for driver Maya 2008 x86_64 linux am 26.12.07 but up to this day nothing come...Can one send me the driver for Maya 2008 x68_64 linux ??? Thank you
(Sorry for my English :) )

djs_core
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 10:16 am

Post by djs_core » Tue Jan 08, 2008 5:00 am

To ****************** :)

Edit (moderator): removed E-mail address from public view.

crobl
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2007 8:34 am
Location: Freiham, Germany

Post by crobl » Tue Jan 08, 2008 5:58 am

Hi djs_core,

you should have received an eMail with the plugin(s) right half an hour before your post...

Sorry for the delay, but we'd closed our office over christmas.

Regards,

Christian Robl

djs_core
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 10:16 am

Post by djs_core » Tue Jan 08, 2008 10:58 am

Yeah Sorry !!! Very much thanks ...

djs_core
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 10:16 am

Post by djs_core » Wed Jan 09, 2008 3:32 am

So far works fine !!! Again very thanks :)

crobl
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2007 8:34 am
Location: Freiham, Germany

Post by crobl » Thu Jan 10, 2008 1:33 am

Hi djs_core,

thats nice to know! :D
If you have further questions and comments, please let me know.

Have fun!

Christian

spudnic
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 9:45 am
Location: California

Maya 2008 RHEL5 x64

Post by spudnic » Thu Nov 06, 2008 10:02 am

So I have a unique situation. We have maya installed to a shared network location. Because of this the rpm (3DxMaya64..) does not find our install of maya and thus gives a dependency error. I tried to counter act this by installing maya locally with the maya rpm (Maya2008_0_64...). I then flagged the entire maya installation with subversion and then proceeded to install the rpm (3DxMaya64...). I was hoping to figure out where the plug-in was installed. This did not seem to work as nothing was modified in the maya installation.

Is the plug-in a standard maya plugin(.so) that will show up in the plug-in manager if installed correctly?

If so then can I get the raw source for the plug-in(just the .so)?

This way I can install the plug-in next to our other plug-ins and then modify the environment so that maya can find the plug-in.

The complete combination of rpms that I am using is below. I am using the Space Navigator PE. Any help would be much appreciated. Thank you for your time.

3DxMaya64-2008-1.2-10.x86_64.rpm, Maya2008_0_64-2008.0-152.x86_64.rpm, 3dxware-linux-v1-2-17.x86_64.tar.gz
Brody

crobl
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2007 8:34 am
Location: Freiham, Germany

Post by crobl » Thu Nov 06, 2008 10:28 am

Hi spudnic,

you can extract the RPM file without installing it and copy the files by hand to the appropriate location.

Try this:

Code: Select all

mkdir mytempdir
cd tempdir
rpm2cpio 3DxMaya64-2008-1.2-10.x86_64.rpm | cpio -idmv
You'll get a "./usr" directory where the files are in the same hierarchy as they'd normally been installed. Just copy all the files (shared objects, MEL scripts and icons) from this newly generated "./usr"-tree to the appropriate subdirectories of your installation. You may safely ignore the files in "./usr/doc".

Hope this helps!

Regards,
Christian Robl
3Dconnexion

spudnic
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 9:45 am
Location: California

Re: Maya 2008 RHEL5 x64

Post by spudnic » Thu Nov 06, 2008 10:28 am

Never mind I was able to figure it out. I needed to install maya to the default location and not use the --prefix option to the rpm.
spudnic wrote:So I have a unique situation. We have maya installed to a shared network location. Because of this the rpm (3DxMaya64..) does not find our install of maya and thus gives a dependency error. I tried to counter act this by installing maya locally with the maya rpm (Maya2008_0_64...). I then flagged the entire maya installation with subversion and then proceeded to install the rpm (3DxMaya64...). I was hoping to figure out where the plug-in was installed. This did not seem to work as nothing was modified in the maya installation.

Is the plug-in a standard maya plugin(.so) that will show up in the plug-in manager if installed correctly?

If so then can I get the raw source for the plug-in(just the .so)?

This way I can install the plug-in next to our other plug-ins and then modify the environment so that maya can find the plug-in.

The complete combination of rpms that I am using is below. I am using the Space Navigator PE. Any help would be much appreciated. Thank you for your time.

3DxMaya64-2008-1.2-10.x86_64.rpm, Maya2008_0_64-2008.0-152.x86_64.rpm, 3dxware-linux-v1-2-17.x86_64.tar.gz
Brody

Post Reply