Google Sketchup Free compatible?

Questions and answers about 3Dconnexion devices on macOS.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
GregVDS
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 3:11 am
Location: Bruxelles

Google Sketchup Free compatible?

Post by GregVDS » Thu Mar 08, 2007 2:34 am

Hello,

I just downloaded Google Sketchup Free and tried to use the Space Navigator to move pan zoom etc. Nothing moves at all. I have the last driver version. Is it supported or only the Pro version? If this is the case, it SHOULD be said Google Sketchup PRO !! in the list of compatible software in the pref pane, or it feels more and more 'false advertising' about this Space Navigator and Mac Os X.

All the best,

GregVDS
All the best,

GregVDS

seacrets
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 9:25 am
Location: Barcelona

Post by seacrets » Thu Mar 08, 2007 6:33 am

Hi Greg,

You are using GS version 6, isn't it? AFAIK It should work even in the free version. But I am using the Pro version so I can't check it for you.

Maybe you have to install the driver AFTER you install GS, because it works as a plugin. It might check if GS is present and then install the plugin INSIDE the app.

GregVDS
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 3:11 am
Location: Bruxelles

Post by GregVDS » Thu Mar 08, 2007 7:35 am

No, I use the GS5 Free. And I found that it was only compatible with GS6. By the way, Is there a GS6 Free edition? I don't find it, only the 5.

All the very best,

GregVDS
All the best,

GregVDS

lmop
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2007 7:33 am
Location: UK

Post by lmop » Thu Mar 08, 2007 8:19 am


GregVDS
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 3:11 am
Location: Bruxelles

Post by GregVDS » Thu Mar 08, 2007 9:29 am

Thank you guys. I don't know why, but the link you give is somehow redirected by my regional settings, and I end on a french version of the Sketchup page, where the sketchup version is still 5.0.296 or something like that.

But I found a Google Sketchup 6 (6.0.313) and it works!! Now I hope the thing will not end in 8 hours.

Someone can confirm I have the free Sketchup 6, not the pro demo?

All the very best,

GregVDS
All the best,

GregVDS

seacrets
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 9:25 am
Location: Barcelona

Post by seacrets » Thu Mar 08, 2007 2:36 pm

GregVDS wrote:
Someone can confirm I have the free Sketchup 6, not the pro demo?
Start Sketchup and then at the top, next to the blue apple press SKETCHUP/ABOUT SKETCHUP

Mine says GOOGLE SKETCHUP PRO

lmop
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2007 7:33 am
Location: UK

Post by lmop » Thu Mar 08, 2007 2:54 pm

Whilst the free version, which I have, its About SketchUp reads:

Code: Select all

Google SketchUp
SketchUp 6 (6.0.313)
which is what you previously stated you have. Have fun!

GregVDS
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 3:11 am
Location: Bruxelles

Post by GregVDS » Fri Mar 09, 2007 1:45 am

Great!

Thank you all,
All the best,

GregVDS

Post Reply