Synchronise settings between CADmice

Questions and answers about 3Dconnexion devices on Windows.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
nisaa
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2023 8:54 pm

Synchronise settings between CADmice

Post by nisaa » Sun Jan 22, 2023 8:59 pm

Hi,
I have a CADmouse pro (wired) and I am looking at getting a CADmouse pro wireless (one to use in the office and one when working from home). Is there a way to keep the settings for the two mice synchronised so that the button functions etc are identical no matter which mouse I am using? I only need this to work on a single laptop

jwick
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3169
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Synchronise settings between CADmice

Post by jwick » Mon Jan 23, 2023 6:24 am

Unfortunately not ATM. Though, it is a common request.
The settings are human-readable. You could write a script to synchronize the settings, but I don't know how you would know which Device has the most recent assignments.

nisaa
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2023 8:54 pm

Re: Synchronise settings between CADmice

Post by nisaa » Mon Jan 23, 2023 3:45 pm

Okay, thank you for your reply.

What would be the process to manually synchronise the settings (e.g. after a change in button mapping for one mouse, to ensure there is matching behaviour for the other mouse)

jwick
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3169
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Synchronise settings between CADmice

Post by jwick » Tue Jan 24, 2023 8:35 am

When you change a button assignment, the cfg file for your application, e.g., %appdata%\3Dconnexion\3DxWare\Cfg\Solidworks.xml) will have an <Output><ActionID> entry for that button in the Device section for a specific device. You need to copy it from the Device it was made in, to the other Device you want to sync it to.

E.g.,
<Device>
<ID>ID_ProductID_C654</ID>
<CurrentButtonBank>Default</CurrentButtonBank>
<ButtonBank Default="true">
<Name>STR_DEFAULT_BUTTONBANK</Name>
<ID>Default</ID>
<Button>
<Input>
<ActionID>HIDButton_3</ActionID>
</Input>
<Output>
<ActionID>Orbit</ActionID> <-- copy this to the other device
</Output>
</Button>
..
<Device>
<ID>ID_ProductID_C657</ID>
<CurrentButtonBank>Default</CurrentButtonBank>
<ButtonBank Default="true">
<Name>STR_DEFAULT_BUTTONBANK</Name>
<ID>Default</ID>
<Button>
<Input>
<ActionID>HIDButton_3</ActionID>
</Input>
<Output>
<ActionID>Orbit</ActionID> <---- here
</Output>
</Button>

nisaa
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2023 8:54 pm

Re: Synchronise settings between CADmice

Post by nisaa » Tue Jan 24, 2023 1:48 pm

Okay thank you for your help

Post Reply