Use 3DConnexion mouse as 2D

Questions and answers about 3Dconnexion devices on Windows.

Moderator: Moderators

jwick
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2899
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Use 3DConnexion mouse as 2D

Post by jwick » Tue Mar 17, 2020 9:27 am

The 3D mouse is not moving your cursor around when you are on a web page in chrome?

Great
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2020 2:47 am

Re: Use 3DConnexion mouse as 2D

Post by Great » Wed Mar 18, 2020 2:34 am

Hi Jwick,

No its not moving the cursor at all,
Which reminded me I rest all the settings before doing your new fix and forgot to put the XML to control the mouse with the 3dconnexion device,

I tried to re apply the XML That I originally used but I get an error "Invalid file format "C:\programdata\3dconnexion\3DxWare\CFG\Desktop_2DMouse.XML is invalid in 17.6.5. Empty CfgProperties Elements"

bit confused as this worked before

jwick
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2899
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Use 3DConnexion mouse as 2D

Post by jwick » Wed Mar 18, 2020 3:28 am

Don't use that file. It would try to override this one. It's also from an old version and incompatible. Delete all your user cfg files if there is any question. When Chrome is in focus, your GUI should say "Chrome WPPZ".

I've put a new version that fixes some of those anomalies here. It keeps the cursor close to the original position. It looks like someone trying to use a mouse on an airplane tray.

Make sure neither the driver nor Chrome is running as admin. Or they won't be able to talk to each other.

It also works pretty well in Google Maps under Chrome. Probably anything that uses LMB + Mouse X/Y to pan.

I'm occasionally seeing a ZoomIn happen and an LMB release being missed. I think this is a LMB double click that needs to be eliminated.

Great01
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2021 2:09 am

Re: Use 3DConnexion mouse as 2D

Post by Great01 » Mon Apr 19, 2021 2:27 am

Hello,
I am the same person who started this threat, (unfortunately due to email address changes and me forgetting my password I'm unable to continue with my previous account)

First of all, thank you for all the advice and efforts last year, unfortunately due to covid I was unable to look further into this,
I am hoping you are still able to help me with this, the files that you uploaded last year are no longer valid and I am wondering if you would happen to still have them files?

Thank you and sorry again for taking so long to get back to you

jwick
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2899
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Use 3DConnexion mouse as 2D

Post by jwick » Thu Apr 22, 2021 8:27 am

Which version of the driver do you have installed now?
It should be 10.7.2 (3DxWinCore 17.7.2).

Great01
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2021 2:09 am

Re: Use 3DConnexion mouse as 2D

Post by Great01 » Fri Apr 23, 2021 12:18 am

Hi there,
Thanks for getting back to me :)

I have updated to the latest software version now.

jwick
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2899
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Use 3DConnexion mouse as 2D

Post by jwick » Fri Apr 23, 2021 3:14 am

Is you nhs address accurate? It is easier to trade files over email.

I made some changes to that DLL and xml file.
IMO it is somewhat useful for panning in Chrome with that web page you referenced earlier.
You can have a look. I didn't try zooming. I did zooming on my 2D mouse mousewheel, panning on my 3D mouse.

As such, it is also somewhat promising for use with maps.google.com.

Great01
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2021 2:09 am

Re: Use 3DConnexion mouse as 2D

Post by Great01 » Fri Apr 23, 2021 3:38 am

Hi.

Yes my Email address is Accurate,

Thanks,

bhatfiel
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2021 12:46 pm

Re: Use 3DConnexion mouse as 2D

Post by bhatfiel » Mon Apr 26, 2021 12:49 pm

I just stumbled across this thread and I was hoping to get the xml and, if needed, the DLL files. I'm using a similar slide software in Chrome and it would be very helpful to be able to use the 3DConnexion mouse

Great01
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2021 2:09 am

Re: Use 3DConnexion mouse as 2D

Post by Great01 » Wed Apr 28, 2021 1:08 am

Hi Jwick, I didnt receive an email,
Just wondering if it was sent (or if it was blocked),

Can you confirm if this was sent? (or if it will be posted here as other people are interested :D )

Thanks you Jwick,

jwick
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2899
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Use 3DConnexion mouse as 2D

Post by jwick » Wed Apr 28, 2021 1:39 am

I sent it yesterday 10:02am.
It may have gotten blocked because of the attached DLL.

Great01
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2021 2:09 am

Re: Use 3DConnexion mouse as 2D

Post by Great01 » Wed Apr 28, 2021 2:00 am

Strange, Cant seem to see it,

Would it be possible to resend but remove the ".dll" extension and I can add that back on if I receive it?
Failing would it be possible to use a dropbox or something to send the DLL?

Thanks

martinweihrauch
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 02, 2021 3:43 am

Re: Use 3DConnexion mouse as 2D

Post by martinweihrauch » Sun May 02, 2021 3:50 am

Hello everyone:

I have been bugging the 3DConnexion support for 2 years already without success. Our company Smart In Media (https://www.smartinmedia.com), we are huge in digital pathology and the business is exploding world-wide. Pathologists will not want to microscope with a mouse and ruin their tendons with the mouse wheel.
Thus, I thought 3DConnexion would be optimal. But, the way seems to be super difficult!
In fact, the only thing we need to accomplish in digital pathology is:

- if you can steer google maps (not google earth!) in a browser well, then digital pathology will also work beautifully.

Isn't it possible to just map the 3D Mouse with the gamepad API of browsers? That should be dirt-simple, no?

Best regards from Cologne, Germany
Martin Weihrauch, M. D.

jwick
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2899
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Use 3DConnexion mouse as 2D

Post by jwick » Sun May 02, 2021 11:56 pm

Hello Martin,

Do you have a sample web page I can test?
It is likely browser specific. Which browser(s)?
You are correct. Using the gamepad API would probably work better.

Jim

martinweihrauch
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 02, 2021 3:43 am

Re: Use 3DConnexion mouse as 2D

Post by martinweihrauch » Fri Jun 18, 2021 7:08 am

Thanks!
Gamepad API works awesome - unless you install the 3DConnexion driver. Then, the gamepad exposure of the SpaceMouse is hindered by the driver. Would be great to if disabling the default driver behavior for Chrome and MS Edge.

Post Reply