Spacenavigator problems Google Earth (and other softwares)

Questions and answers about 3Dconnexion devices on Windows.

Moderator: Moderators

DGF

Spacenavigator problems Google Earth (and other softwares)

Post by DGF »

Hello,
My name is Ben, I'm a 2D/3D graphic artist/designer.

I have recently purchased a 3D spacenavigator compact. I have been using it on a windows 7 machine with no issues at all. But I have recently moved back home where my computer runs on windows 10. And I encounter nothing but problems with it eversince.
Drivers have been installed properly, and all the softwares I used worked perfectly fine on the other machine.

Google Earth

The most obnoxious issue is related to Google Earth, I have not seen anybody else complain about it, so I recorded a video to show you the situation. Please kindly click on the link: https://youtu.be/6rngOx0OPQE

The software is capturing a lot of different movements as soon as I touch the navigator. And endlessly moves in those directions until I try to move elsewhere, and the problem happens again but in another direction.

It feels like i'm trying to move the spacemouse while somebody else is fiddling around with the software. Making it unusable with the device.

Blender 2.79

The problem here is different; The spacemouse is working fine in Blender, it captures my movements properly. But the problem comes when I try to change the properties of my navigator: Nothing happens.

I tried to invert some directions, adjust the rotation speed of some angles, but nothing applies. The speed remains the same and the direction aswell.

I can use it like that, but rotation speed is too slow by default, so I ended up switching back to my mouse workflow. Which wasn't really what I intended to do when I bought this product.

Firefox, Chrome, Discord, etc.