How to map Global.xml SM Enterprise

Questions and answers about 3Dconnexion devices on Windows.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
bogordo
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 1:43 pm

How to map Global.xml SM Enterprise

Post by bogordo »

Hi,

I know how to map specific applications, since they are detected automatically, don't know how to map Global settings, since i am always in an app...or Windows explorer :roll:

I want to map Spacemouse numbers to let's say "Win+F1", "Ctl+w", editing the XML needs to know specific key-codes right??

Thanks,

pd.: is somewhere a good manual/tutorials so i can find out this stuff?? really missing good documentation support.
jwick
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3331
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: How to map Global.xml SM Enterprise

Post by jwick »

You permanently want a specific button to do Win-F1, ctrl+W etc?
Regardless of what application is in focus?

The GUI will record the correct keycodes for you. They are kb layout specific. If you change your locale to a different locale they may need to be changed.
bogordo
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 1:43 pm

Re: How to map Global.xml SM Enterprise

Post by bogordo »

Yes, i don't use this combination (and others) for specific apps. Don`t understand the "locale" thing...

So how could i edit the global.xml? or there is more user friendly/GUI way of doing this? :?
jwick
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3331
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: How to map Global.xml SM Enterprise

Post by jwick »

This is becoming a more common request. One of these days the GUI will have to do this for you.

You want to use the GUI to record the macros (you may have problems with the Windows key) and assign them to your SME buttons. They will be recorded into an app-specific file, but the syntax is the same. All that needs to be moved to AD/Global.xml. Start with simple app-specific file so you can see what it did.

Here's another topic that digs into it.

You will probably need my help as you get into it.
bogordo
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 1:43 pm

Re: How to map Global.xml SM Enterprise

Post by bogordo »

Thanks but my codings skills are 0,0, i would need further assistant, edited my XML, pasting the Macrotable code from Notepad.exe generated example, not working, when i go to Desktop, SME shows Desktop icon and 1 key executes File explorer.

Sorry but i think all this really turns out difficult and nothing intuitive for a "normal" user :roll:

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="no"?>
<Global Default="false" xmlns="" CfgFormatVersion="1.3" ThisFileVersion="2.0">
<CfgProperties><ID>ID_Global_Cfg</ID><Name>STR_GLOBALCFG</Name><InheritsFromID>ID_Base_Cfg</InheritsFromID>
</CfgProperties><AuthorInfo><DriverVersion>17.6.4.16911</DriverVersion><LastChange><Tool>3DxService.exe</Tool>
<Version>17.6.4.16911</Version><Date>2020:2:2:4:18:32:13:302</Date><User>kose</User></LastChange><Created>
<Tool>3DxService.exe</Tool><Version>17.6.4.16911</Version><Date>2020:2:2:4:18:32:13:302</Date>
<User>kose</User></Created></AuthorInfo><Settings><CheckedForMouseSysParams/>
<InstallerAutoCheckForUpdates>true</InstallerAutoCheckForUpdates>
<LastAutoCheckForUpdates>4-2-2020</LastAutoCheckForUpdates>
</Settings>
  <MacroTable>
    <MacroEntry>
      <ID>CTRL+V</ID>
      <KeyStroke>
        <Modifiers>
          <Modifier>Control</Modifier>
        </Modifiers>
        <Key>19</Key>
      </KeyStroke>
    </MacroEntry>
  </MacroTable>
<Devices/>
</Global>
jwick
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3331
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: How to map Global.xml SM Enterprise

Post by jwick »

That's what a GUI is for.

What macros do you want and assigned to which SME buttons?
Make the macros for your kb / locale and post them here (e.g., from your notepad.xml file). You mentioned ctrl+W but your macro is ctrl+V. Make whatever you want and send them to me.

I'll create a file for you.

There are some caveats. It somewhat depends on what "mode" the application puts the driver in. Some applications have multiple modes (part, assembly, etc). That requires some additional changes.

Not changes to expect from the average user, obviously.
bogordo
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 1:43 pm

Re: How to map Global.xml SM Enterprise

Post by bogordo »

My idea was to map in SME from 1 to 9 the Win+1 combination, thus, 1 for Win+1, 2 for Win+2...

Would appreciate if you can make the structure of the basic clue so i can follow.

Thank you,
bogordo
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 1:43 pm

Re: How to map Global.xml SM Enterprise

Post by bogordo »

...so is this something that can be done?? :roll:
jwick
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3331
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: How to map Global.xml SM Enterprise

Post by jwick »

Replace your %appdata%\3Dconnexion\3DxWare\Cfg\Global.xml contents with this:

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<Global Default="false" xmlns="" CfgFormatVersion="1.3" ThisFileVersion="2.0">
	<Settings>
		<CheckedForMouseSysParams/>
		<InstallerAutoCheckForUpdates>false</InstallerAutoCheckForUpdates>
		<LogLevel>FFDFFEF7</LogLevel>
		<LastAutoCheckForUpdates>9-1-2020</LastAutoCheckForUpdates>
		<LastSWUpdateWarningVersion>10.6.4</LastSWUpdateWarningVersion>
	</Settings>
	<CfgProperties>
		<ID>ID_Global_Cfg</ID>
		<Name>STR_GLOBALCFG</Name>
		<InheritsFromID>ID_Global_Cfg</InheritsFromID>
	</CfgProperties>
  <MacroTable>
    <MacroEntry>
      <ID>WIN-1</ID>
      <Sequence>
        <KeyPress>E3</KeyPress>
        <KeyPress>1E</KeyPress>
        <KeyRelease>1E</KeyRelease>
        <KeyRelease>E3</KeyRelease>
      </Sequence>
    </MacroEntry>
    <MacroEntry>
      <ID>WIN-2</ID>
      <Sequence>
        <KeyPress>E3</KeyPress>
        <KeyPress>1F</KeyPress>
        <KeyRelease>1F</KeyRelease>
        <KeyRelease>E3</KeyRelease>
      </Sequence>
    </MacroEntry>
    <MacroEntry>
      <ID>WIN-3</ID>
      <Sequence>
        <KeyPress>E3</KeyPress>
        <KeyPress>20</KeyPress>
        <KeyRelease>20</KeyRelease>
        <KeyRelease>E3</KeyRelease>
      </Sequence>
    </MacroEntry>
    <MacroEntry>
      <ID>WIN-4</ID>
      <Sequence>
        <KeyPress>E3</KeyPress>
        <KeyPress>21</KeyPress>
        <KeyRelease>21</KeyRelease>
        <KeyRelease>E3</KeyRelease>
      </Sequence>
    </MacroEntry>
    <MacroEntry>
      <ID>WIN-5</ID>
      <Sequence>
        <KeyPress>E3</KeyPress>
        <KeyPress>22</KeyPress>
        <KeyRelease>22</KeyRelease>
        <KeyRelease>E3</KeyRelease>
      </Sequence>
    </MacroEntry>
    <MacroEntry>
      <ID>WIN-6</ID>
      <Sequence>
        <KeyPress>E3</KeyPress>
        <KeyPress>23</KeyPress>
        <KeyRelease>23</KeyRelease>
        <KeyRelease>E3</KeyRelease>
      </Sequence>
    </MacroEntry>
    <MacroEntry>
      <ID>WIN-7</ID>
      <Sequence>
        <KeyPress>E3</KeyPress>
        <KeyPress>24</KeyPress>
        <KeyRelease>24</KeyRelease>
        <KeyRelease>E3</KeyRelease>
      </Sequence>
    </MacroEntry>
    <MacroEntry>
      <ID>WIN-8</ID>
      <Sequence>
        <KeyPress>E3</KeyPress>
        <KeyPress>25</KeyPress>
        <KeyRelease>25</KeyRelease>
        <KeyRelease>E3</KeyRelease>
      </Sequence>
    </MacroEntry>
    <MacroEntry>
      <ID>WIN-9</ID>
      <Sequence>
        <KeyPress>E3</KeyPress>
        <KeyPress>26</KeyPress>
        <KeyRelease>26</KeyRelease>
        <KeyRelease>E3</KeyRelease>
      </Sequence>
    </MacroEntry>
  </MacroTable>
  <Devices>
    <Device>
      <ID>ID_ProductID_C633</ID>
      <ButtonBank Default="true">
        <Name>STR_DEFAULT_BUTTONBANK</Name>
        <ID>Default</ID>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>HIDButton_13</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>WIN-1</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>HIDButton_14</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>WIN-2</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>HIDButton_15</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>WIN-3</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>HIDButton_16</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>WIN-4</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>HIDButton_17</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>WIN-5</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>HIDButton_18</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>WIN-6</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>HIDButton_19</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>WIN-7</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>HIDButton_20</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>WIN-8</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>HIDButton_21</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>WIN-9</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
      </ButtonBank>
    </Device>
  </Devices>
</Global>
bogordo
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 1:43 pm

Re: How to map Global.xml SM Enterprise

Post by bogordo »

Is not working, button 1 is opening 3dConnexion calculator, button 2 Explorer, button 3 Edge browser...so not going to corresponded opened apps in taskbar...

Thank you,
bogordo
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 1:43 pm

Re: How to map Global.xml SM Enterprise

Post by bogordo »

:? Is working now...thank you!!
Post Reply