How to use an old "spacepilot" in new 3Ds Max?

Questions and answers about 3Dconnexion devices on Windows.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
REB
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2020 7:28 am

How to use an old "spacepilot" in new 3Ds Max?

Post by REB » Wed Apr 22, 2020 7:36 am

The response of the support service was simple "the device is not supported, buy a new device." Maybe there is some non-official patch / driver / utility that allows you to use the "space pilot" with 3Ds Max 2017 and newer?

thempus
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: How to use an old "spacepilot" in new 3Ds Max?

Post by thempus » Thu Apr 23, 2020 3:41 am

Try to get the sdk sample, that will let you read the data directly from the device and you can apply the translation and rotation to the camera or viewport via maxscript. I had to do this to use my Spacenavigator with 3ds max 2020, drivers are totally broken for months.

djmezo
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2020 8:35 am

Re: How to use an old "spacepilot" in new 3Ds Max?

Post by djmezo » Thu Aug 13, 2020 8:39 am

thempus wrote:
Thu Apr 23, 2020 3:41 am
Try to get the sdk sample, that will let you read the data directly from the device and you can apply the translation and rotation to the camera or viewport via maxscript. I had to do this to use my Spacenavigator with 3ds max 2020, drivers are totally broken for months.
Hi, I also have a Spacenavigator but is not working in 3ds Max 2020. Could you explain how to do that thing of getting sdk sample? I'd really need it! Thanks in advance. :roll:

thempus
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: How to use an old "spacepilot" in new 3Ds Max?

Post by thempus » Sun Aug 23, 2020 3:44 am

I just uploaded my implementation to github if you wanna try it:
https://github.com/boxofapps/BoaSpaceNavigator

djmezo
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2020 8:35 am

Re: How to use an old "spacepilot" in new 3Ds Max?

Post by djmezo » Sun Aug 23, 2020 4:09 am

thempus wrote:
Sun Aug 23, 2020 3:44 am
I just uploaded my implementation to github if you wanna try it:
https://github.com/boxofapps/BoaSpaceNavigator
Ey thanks.

Unfortunately I've this error message and it's not working. Here is a screenshot:
https://ibb.co/7GDMZ3H

Image
https://ibb.co/7GDMZ3H

Post Reply