change relative orientation of buttons?

Questions and answers about 3Dconnexion devices on Windows.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
jimsweetjim
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2020 8:33 am

change relative orientation of buttons?

Post by jimsweetjim » Sat Jun 20, 2020 8:42 am

I'm finding that the way I like to sit and control the mouse, the buttons are not in the best orientation. The thumb button is past the end of my thumb (i.e. too far around to my right), and the other button is too far around to the left for my finger to press it comfortably. In order to use the buttons, I need to rotate my hand counter clockwise every time I want to press a button.

I tried using the trainer to train the mouse, but I guess it doesn't work that way. I rotated the mouse clockwise to where I wanted the buttons, and then used the trainer to tell it where I wanted to move it for left/right/forward/back. I hoped it would learn and adjust to what I wanted, but it just told me I was doing it wrong.

Is there a way to train the mouse so I can get the buttons under my thumb and finger?

jwick
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2711
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: change relative orientation of buttons?

Post by jwick » Mon Jun 29, 2020 11:59 pm

You have a 2 button device?
It is possible to rotate the axes 90 degrees, so you can put the buttons at 12 o'clock and 6 o'clock.
It is a bit of work. XML files need to be edited. But I can walk you through it if you want.
It is not possible, at this time, to rotate it 45 degrees or another custom angle. But I do have that on my list of feature requests.

jwick
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2711
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: change relative orientation of buttons?

Post by jwick » Tue Jun 30, 2020 12:03 am

You have a 2 button device?
It is possible to rotate the axes 90 degrees, so you can put the buttons at 12 o'clock and 6 o'clock.
It is a bit of work. XML files need to be edited. But I can walk you through it if you want.
It is not possible, at this time, to rotate it 45 degrees or another custom angle. But I do have that on my list of feature requests.

ChuckSteers
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2020 9:30 am

Re: change relative orientation of buttons?

Post by ChuckSteers » Mon Aug 10, 2020 9:32 am

@jwick

Could you elaborate on how to modify the XML?

Thanks!

jwick
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2711
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: change relative orientation of buttons?

Post by jwick » Tue Aug 11, 2020 12:34 am

To "rotate the device" by 90 degrees, you can change the first transformation done to the axes.

If you make this change in our Base.xml file, all applications will use it, unless an application-specific file changes it.
The application-specific Zoom Direction option in our GUI changes this. Those changes will override Base.xml.

Base.xml is in the 3DxWinCore/Cfg dir. This is typically C:\Program Files\3Dconnexion\3DxWare\3DxWinCore\Cfg.
When you install a new version, this file will again need to be manually edited.

The lines to change are the <Output> lines of the axes you want to switch. Normally Input == Output. You want to change the Output to send a different axis.
Look for this section (I'm leaving out a lot of extra lines):

Code: Select all

		<Device>
			<Name>Standard 3D Mouse</Name>
			<ID>ID_Standard_3D_Mouse</ID>
			...
			<AxisBank Default="true">
				<Name>STR_DEFAULT_BANK</Name>
				<ID>Default</ID>
				<Axis>
					<Enabled>true</Enabled>
					<Input>
						<ActionID>HIDMultiAxis_X</ActionID>
						...
					</Input>
					<Output>
						<ActionID>HIDMultiAxis_X</ActionID>
						...
					</Output>
				</Axis>
				<Axis>
					<Enabled>true</Enabled>
					<Input>
						<ActionID>HIDMultiAxis_Y</ActionID>
						...
					</Input>
					<Output>
						<ActionID>HIDMultiAxis_Y</ActionID>
						...
					</Output>
				</Axis>
				...
				<Axis>
					<Enabled>true</Enabled>
					<Input>
						<ActionID>HIDMultiAxis_Rx</ActionID>
						...
					</Input>
					<Output>
						<ActionID>HIDMultiAxis_Rx</ActionID>
						...
					</Output>
				</Axis>
				<Axis>
					<Enabled>true</Enabled>
					<Input>
						<ActionID>HIDMultiAxis_Ry</ActionID>
						...
					</Input>
					<Output>
						<ActionID>HIDMultiAxis_Ry</ActionID>
						...
					</Output>
				</Axis>
				...
			</AxisBank>
			...
		</Device>
To swap X and Y, swap the Output of those axes. You probably also need to change <Reversed>true</Reversed> for some of them.

Code: Select all

		<Device>
			<Name>Standard 3D Mouse</Name>
			<ID>ID_Standard_3D_Mouse</ID>
			...
			<AxisBank Default="true">
				<Name>STR_DEFAULT_BANK</Name>
				<ID>Default</ID>
				<Axis>
					<Enabled>true</Enabled>
					<Input>
						<ActionID>HIDMultiAxis_X</ActionID>
						...
					</Input>
					<Output>
						<ActionID>HIDMultiAxis_Y</ActionID>
						...
					</Output>
				</Axis>
				<Axis>
					<Enabled>true</Enabled>
					<Input>
						<ActionID>HIDMultiAxis_Y</ActionID>
						...
					</Input>
					<Output>
						<ActionID>HIDMultiAxis_X</ActionID>
						...
					</Output>
				</Axis>
				...
				<Axis>
					<Enabled>true</Enabled>
					<Input>
						<ActionID>HIDMultiAxis_Rx</ActionID>
						...
					</Input>
					<Output>
						<ActionID>HIDMultiAxis_Ry</ActionID>
						...
					</Output>
				</Axis>
				<Axis>
					<Enabled>true</Enabled>
					<Input>
						<ActionID>HIDMultiAxis_Ry</ActionID>
						...
					</Input>
					<Output>
						<ActionID>HIDMultiAxis_Rx</ActionID>
						...
					</Output>
				</Axis>
				...
			</AxisBank>
			...
		</Device>

Post Reply