Discontinued SpaceNavigator support

Questions and answers about 3Dconnexion devices on Windows.

Moderator: Moderators

ctahell

Discontinued SpaceNavigator support

Post by ctahell »

I hate the way your company ends support for fully functional devices such as SpaceNavigator.

I have been using 3DConnexion devices since 2003 and I have been very happy with the device. Actually I can't make it without it on my desk, left to the keyboard, when I use any of the 3D design software that I use: 3ds Max, Unity, SketchUp, ArchiCAD, ABB RobotStudio, and many more.

During recent years I have assigned Ctrl+C and Ctrl+V to the SpaceNavigator buttons, and this streamlines my work significantly when I have to copy and paste frequently, between any applications!

I was disappointed when the support for Windows 7 was dropped from 3DConnexion 3DX-700043 SpaceMouse Wireless support, and all our dozen of SpaceMice went obsolete.

In 2015 I started purchasing SpaceNavigators, and now we have more than a dozen of those. Now you have dropped support also from that device, even though the mechanics and electronics work like charm in every single device. I do not need any more programmable buttons except for those two or a fancy display in my 3D mouse, I am perfectly happy with 3D mouse and two buttons.

Why in earth did you have to discontinue support for SpaceNavigator? I have turned many colleagues of mine into SpaceNavigator fans during these 19 years. Since I am working in a university environment, I must update my software to the latest version, and now I am starting to lose support for those.

I hope that you may reconsider your decision of dropping support for SpaceNavigator. Otherwise, you are turning your old customers into enemies!
luping

Re: Discontinued SpaceNavigator support

Post by luping »

... when I use any of the 3D design software that I use: 3ds Max, Unity, SketchUp, ArchiCAD, ABB RobotStudio, and many more.