deadband makes Rhino crash

Questions and answers about 3Dconnexion devices on Windows.

Moderator: Moderators

sumguy

deadband makes Rhino crash

Post by sumguy »

Hi, I just purchased a SpaceNavigator for Notebooks, using it with Rhino 5. I've never used a 3D mouse before...

Got it installed, but the control knob seems way too sensitive, it activates if I so much as breathe on it... makes it difficult to use. I'm not talking about the Speed, I want to adjust the Threshold, which I guess is no longer in the GUI for some reason?

So finally I found this forum post:
viewtopic.php?f=25&t=8181&p=34358#p34358
saying to add eg. <Deadband>10</Deadband> parameter to the Settings in the %appdata%\3dconnexion\3DxWare\Cfg\Global_User.xml file. After doing "LEDs Active" from the tray icon a couple of times in order to get that file created, I added the deaband. Now in the demo apps, it's working well. But Rhino won't start up properly anymore. If I remove the <Deadband> parameter from the xml file, Rhino works normally again.

Is there another way to do this? Is it a bug in Rhino that I'll have to wait for them to fix? I tried changing the Rhino.xml file from:
<Settings/>
to:
<Settings><Deadband>10</Deadband></Settings>
...but it didn't seem to do anything. Is there some good documentation about the xml files somewhere?

The symptoms are:
- Rhino starts and draws the screen, and the splash screen fades out
- Rhino window then goes to the background, behind other windows. Can't bring it to the foreground by clicking on it.
- Task Manager shows 3DxService.exe using 50-100% cpu, Rhino.exe using 0-1%. My laptop's fans come on...
- ending the Rhino process brings 3DxService.exe back to 0-1% cpu
- alternatively, ending the 3DxService.exe process instead, lets the Rhino window come to the foreground, but I get the hourglass and "Not Responding"
jwick

Re: deadband makes Rhino crash

Post by jwick »

I think Deadband was broken in that release (fixed for the next).