SpaceNavigator -> Simulink

Post questions, comments and feedback to our 3Dconnexion Windows Development Team.

Moderator: Moderators

Foeks

SpaceNavigator -> Simulink

Post by Foeks »

hello,

let me first introduce myself,
i'm a mechanical engineering student doing research at the university of victoria. the research field is 'haptics', where we're trying to create a sense of touch in a virtual environment using so-called 'haptic-devices'. these devices generally have encoders to read positions and actuators to return forces. an example of such a device is shown here: http://www.sensable.com/documents/image ... iImage.jpg

we recently bought a spacenavigator because it has 6 degrees of motion freedom like the haptic device, which would allow us to do simulations and experiments without having to worry about the force-feedback.

all the computation to go from positions to forces, as well as displaying the virtual environment are done in Simulink, a well known tool in the engineering world. at the moment we're doing simulations with pre-defined user trajectories such that we're 'touching' a soft/deformable object in a virtual world. instead of pre-defining the trajectories, we would now like to read the positions from the SpaceNavigator. it is possible to integrate C++ code in our Simulink model so we would like to write a C++ program that reads positions from the SpaceNavigator and feed them in our model.

still following me? :)

once i've written that code, i can post it on the MathWorks website such that any Simulink user would be able to use it. i hope this gives some motivation to help me.

now here comes the problem. i'm an engineer, not a software developer. i've written some for/while loop-basic stuff- C programs and that's it. i've downloaded and read the 3DxInput API, a large part of the windows SDK guide, tried to decipher the AtlCube3D example and searched this forum. i still don't even know where to start, so i am desperate for help.