Altium Designer 18 (X2.EXE) - 3DxWare profile?

Questions and answers about 3Dconnexion devices on Windows.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
mhoopes
Posts: 143
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Campbell, CA

Altium Designer 18 (X2.EXE) - 3DxWare profile?

Post by mhoopes »

Altium's latest beta version of Altium Designer 18 (18.0.4) changed the file name of their executable to X2.EXE.
3DxWare doesn't seem to recognize it as Altium Designer, so I'm losing some of the 3DxWare functions for my SpaceMouse Pro that worked when AD was DXP.EXE.

Fit: With X2.EXE, it doesn't work at all.
QuickZoom: With X2.EXE, it offers mouse wheel increments (up/down 5x/25x), which don't work for zooming unless you're holding down the Ctrl key.

I made some macros as work-arounds for the time being.

I looked at my two profiles (AltiumDesigner.xml, X2.EXE.xml), and I'm not sure how to adapt my old profile for use with X2.EXE. Any ideas?

Thanks!

Mike
Attachments
Altium_xml.zip
(2.23 KiB) Downloaded 528 times
Michael Hoopes
UtaSH
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3754
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 10:34 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Altium Designer 18 (X2.EXE) - 3DxWare profile?

Post by UtaSH »

Hi mhoopes,

in the AltiumDesigner.xml replace line 7

Code: Select all

<ExecutableName>DXP.EXE</ExecutableName></Signature>
with this one:

Code: Select all

<ExecutableName>X2.EXE</ExecutableName>
and remove the file X2.EXE.xml
mhoopes
Posts: 143
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Campbell, CA

Re: Altium Designer 18 (X2.EXE) - 3DxWare profile?

Post by mhoopes »

UtaSH - thanks much! One issue: I need to keep both versions of the executable on my PC (DXP.EXE and X2.EXE). I sense that this will prevent 3DxWare from detecting DXP.EXE. If so, is there anything I can do about that?
Michael Hoopes
UtaSH
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3754
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 10:34 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Altium Designer 18 (X2.EXE) - 3DxWare profile?

Post by UtaSH »

In the XML from the executable that you want to be ignored add this:

Code: Select all

<CfgProperties>
	...
		<Access>
			<Ignore>true</Ignore>
		</Access>
</CfgProperties>
mhoopes
Posts: 143
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Campbell, CA

Re: Altium Designer 18 (X2.EXE) - 3DxWare profile?

Post by mhoopes »

Uta- thanks much. I don’t want to ignore DXP. I need to be able to use both applications concurrently, since I am beta-testing.
Michael Hoopes
mhoopes
Posts: 143
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Campbell, CA

Re: Altium Designer 18 (X2.EXE) - 3DxWare profile?

Post by mhoopes »

I finally found out how to get 3DxWare to recognize X2.EXE. It ends up that 3DConnexion added the capability last year to recognize multiple executables in a single profile. It works.
http://www.3dconnexion.jp/forum/viewtop ... 469#p47987

1. Rename or delete X2.EXE (so that it doesn't get used).
2. Add the following (underlined) line to C:\Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\3Dconnexion\3DxWare\Cfg\AltiumDesigner.xml in a text editor:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><AppCfg Default="false" xmlns="" CfgFormatVersion="1.2" ThisFileVersion="1.2.0">
<AppInfo>
<Signature>
<Name>STR_ALTIUMDESIGNER</Name>
<Transport>S80</Transport>
<ExecutableName>DXP.EXE</ExecutableName>
<ExecutableName>X2.EXE</ExecutableName>
</Signature>
<Options/>
</AppInfo>

3. Stop the 3DxWare driver.
4. Re-start the driver.
Michael Hoopes
mhoopes
Posts: 143
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Campbell, CA

Re: Altium Designer 18 (X2.EXE) - 3DxWare profile?

Post by mhoopes »

Correction to my post above: Rename or delete X2.EXE.xml. Don't rename or delete your executable.
Michael Hoopes
Post Reply