Looking to customize Spacepilot for Baldur's Gate 3

Questions and answers about 3Dconnexion devices on Windows.

Moderator: Moderators

10player

Looking to customize Spacepilot for Baldur's Gate 3

Post by 10player »

So, Baldur's Gate 3 has some wonky navigation that I think the Spacepilot I use for Solid Edge could easily control. Well it would make the gaming experience better. Can I just use something like Controlmyjoystick or can I edit some sort of XML for this overhead navigation. Apologies for the post, i'm kind of new to the 3dconnexion stuff. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!
jwick

Re: Looking to customize Spacepilot for Baldur's Gate 3

Post by jwick »

Our driver has minimal support for games. But you can put the device into its minimal joystick mode, then use one of the excellent third party joystick mapping apps available to fine tune the interface to your game.

I don't have any experience with those apps, other than to get an overview and be very impressed by what they do.
There are probably forum users who have experience with them.
Medeival Bunny

Post by Medeival Bunny »

jwick wrote: Fri Aug 04, 2023 5:09 am But you can put the device into its minimal joystick mode
This intrigues me. What is this joystick mode and how to I use it?
jwick

Post by jwick »

Every cfg file can define what the Axes (&buttons) of the 3D mouse do.
We ship a JoystickTemplate.xml file that shows how to assign 3D mouse axes to system Joystick axes.

If you start your game and use our GUI to make some change to any application-specific setting, it will write a cfg file specific to your game in %appdata%\3Dconnexion\3DxWare\Cfg.

You can then manually copy the <ButtonActions> and <Devices> section from the template file into your game-specific file to assign Joystick actions to the 3D mouse axes (and some buttons).