Remote Desktop use of local Space Navigator

Questions and answers about 3Dconnexion devices on Windows.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
jwick
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2747
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Remote Desktop use of local Space Navigator

Post by jwick » Wed Sep 30, 2020 7:56 am

You need to restart 3DxService.exe if you change Base.xml. You don't need to reboot.

These alternate Shift/Ctrl/etc options will not appear in the GUI. If you assign some other function to these keys, they will override your Base.xml assignments. It is possible to make them available in the GUI, but I'd just leave those keys alone in the GUI.

mboye
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2020 12:00 am

Re: Remote Desktop use of local Space Navigator

Post by mboye » Thu Oct 01, 2020 12:39 am

Thank you for the great input Jwick, but still no luck in my end. I think I will have to park this for now, and get back to it later.

Best Regards,
Mads.
jwick wrote:
Wed Sep 30, 2020 7:56 am
You need to restart 3DxService.exe if you change Base.xml. You don't need to reboot.

These alternate Shift/Ctrl/etc options will not appear in the GUI. If you assign some other function to these keys, they will override your Base.xml assignments. It is possible to make them available in the GUI, but I'd just leave those keys alone in the GUI.

antonynealrobinson
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 12:47 am

Re: Remote Desktop use of local Space Navigator

Post by antonynealrobinson » Thu Oct 01, 2020 12:48 am

Jwick,

So does latest software not use Global.xml?
This was the edited file that included the RDP keys.

Ant

jwick
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2747
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Remote Desktop use of local Space Navigator

Post by jwick » Thu Oct 01, 2020 1:00 am

antonynealrobinson,

The software does use Global. There are many ways of doing this assignment. I suggested Base.xml because, normally, these keys are not overridden anywhere, so the assignment will come from Base.xml. If they are overridden in Global, and that ButtonBank is in use, then they will come from there. You can turn on full logging in the log file to see where it gets each assignment from.

Global will become "more global" in the next release--I'm tightening up the definition. But I still don't think I have a way to indicate "I want this button to always do this no matter what else is assigned anywhere else" (a real global override).

The best approach now is to just not assign it anywhere except Base.xml. But you need to redo that with every release--it's not perfect I'll admit.

Josh T.
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 7:18 pm

Re: Remote Desktop use of local Space Navigator

Post by Josh T. » Sat Oct 17, 2020 11:50 am

PanPorzeczka wrote:
Fri Sep 25, 2020 2:18 pm
VirtualHere works for me.
Free version with 1 device is enough.

On host device need to be turn off at device manager to correct use on client.
I test this with SpaceNavigator and work good.

I have win10 Home at home, and win10 Pro at work.
I just tried VirtualHere again, and still no luck for me. When I go into the Remote computer (Win 10 Enterprise, where the "client" software is installed, per the graphic on their site), I get no USB devices showing up in the list whatsoever. The server software is running on my local machine (Win 10 home), so it's not clear if there are other steps to take. And the only thing that disabling the SpaceNavigator in my local machine's device manager does is ask me to reboot for the changes to take effect, then the space mouse is not powered at all. So I'm wondering if you're doing anything special to get this to work. If you have any insight, please let me know. Thanks.

Josh T.

PanPorzeczka
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2020 2:12 pm

Re: Remote Desktop use of local Space Navigator

Post by PanPorzeczka » Tue Oct 20, 2020 2:40 pm

Josh T. wrote:
Sat Oct 17, 2020 11:50 am
PanPorzeczka wrote:
Fri Sep 25, 2020 2:18 pm
VirtualHere works for me.
Free version with 1 device is enough.

On host device need to be turn off at device manager to correct use on client.
I test this with SpaceNavigator and work good.

I have win10 Home at home, and win10 Pro at work.
I just tried VirtualHere again, and still no luck for me. When I go into the Remote computer (Win 10 Enterprise, where the "client" software is installed, per the graphic on their site), I get no USB devices showing up in the list whatsoever. The server software is running on my local machine (Win 10 home), so it's not clear if there are other steps to take. And the only thing that disabling the SpaceNavigator in my local machine's device manager does is ask me to reboot for the changes to take effect, then the space mouse is not powered at all. So I'm wondering if you're doing anything special to get this to work. If you have any insight, please let me know. Thanks.

Josh T.
1. Connect 3d device do Win10H
2. Run VH server on Win10H
3. At manager device on Win10 disable 3DConection device
4. At remote desktop connect to VH server using client
5. Use your 3D Device on RD

On RD need to be installed soft from 3DConnection.
Please let me know if this works for you.

Pan Porzeczka

Petrov
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2020 3:08 am

Re: Remote Desktop use of local Space Navigator

Post by Petrov » Fri Oct 23, 2020 3:18 am

PanPorzeczka

Do you use VPN remote desktop?

Petrov
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2020 3:08 am

Re: Remote Desktop use of local Space Navigator

Post by Petrov » Fri Oct 23, 2020 3:27 am

jwick wrote:
Thu Sep 24, 2020 11:29 pm
You can assign your keyboard modifier keys to different functions in the driver. These functions work over a network connection.

You have to do this manually though.

There are many ways of doing this, but the easiest way is to modify the Base.xml file in your 3DxWinCore installation directory.
This is typically:
C:\Program Files\3Dconnexion\3DxWare\3DxWinCore\Cfg
You will have to redo this every time you install 3DxWare. You need permissions to edit that file.

Find these lines under the Standard 3D Mouse Device element:

Code: Select all

        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>V3DK_ALT</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>KB_Alt</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>V3DK_SHIFT</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>KB_Shift</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>V3DK_CTRL</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>KB_Ctrl</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
Change them to these:

Code: Select all

        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>V3DK_ALT</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>Driver_KB_Alt</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>V3DK_SHIFT</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>Driver_KB_Shift</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>V3DK_CTRL</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>Driver_KB_Ctrl</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
I set 3d mouse but ctrl, alt ,.. don't work even if I changed base.xml.
That change event don't work on my workstation (w/o remote connection). I don't think that is ok.

Petrov
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2020 3:08 am

Re: Remote Desktop use of local Space Navigator

Post by Petrov » Fri Oct 23, 2020 2:55 pm

I run VirtualHere and I have the same problem with any keyboard key assigned to 3d mouse button. I cannot use keyboard key on 3d mouse button when I use RemoteFX or VirtualHere (joystick and any button with software feature assigned it works perfect) . Any idea how to resolve?

PanPorzeczka
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2020 2:12 pm

Re: Remote Desktop use of local Space Navigator

Post by PanPorzeczka » Sat Oct 24, 2020 9:34 am

Petrov wrote:
Fri Oct 23, 2020 3:18 am
PanPorzeczka

Do you use VPN remote desktop?
Yes. I use VPN to connect to remote desktop.
Sometimes Firewall can block packets between VH server and client.

I test this with VH internal tool EasyFind to make connection.
https://www.virtualhere.com/easyfind

Pan Porzeczka

Josh T.
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 7:18 pm

Re: Remote Desktop use of local Space Navigator

Post by Josh T. » Sun Oct 25, 2020 7:03 pm

PanPorzeczka wrote:
Tue Oct 20, 2020 2:40 pm
1. Connect 3d device do Win10H
2. Run VH server on Win10H
3. At manager device on Win10 disable 3DConection device
4. At remote desktop connect to VH server using client
5. Use your 3D Device on RD

On RD need to be installed soft from 3DConnection.
Please let me know if this works for you.
Thanks for trying, but alas, that does not work for me. That's basically what I tried last time, and I tried it again today. Nothing shows up in the remote pc's VirtualHere Client window list of USB devices -- that menu remains blank for me. My guess is there's more going on (perhaps due to security or something).

Josh T.

Josh T.
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 7:18 pm

Re: Remote Desktop use of local Space Navigator

Post by Josh T. » Wed Oct 28, 2020 11:52 am

Note: I also tried to use EasyFind for VirtualHere, and the result is still no go on the Client side (remote). It spins for a few seconds and then repeats that, but never actually connects. I suspect it must be a firewall/security thing. Thanks anyway for the suggestions.

Josh T.

Post Reply